Description of the paintings of Mikaloyus Čiurlionis “Sonata of the Sea”

Description of the paintings of Mikaloyus Čiurlionis “Sonata of the Sea”

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The widely famous “Sonata of the Sea” is a “suite” of three paintings by Čiurlionis, which is rightfully considered one of his most picturesque works.

The musicians call the sonatas of the play, in which there is a struggle between several sometimes completely opposite themes, and the main melody sounds in the finale. A mandatory attribute of a sonata is a division into 4 or 3 parts. Čiurlionis believed in the possibility of creating sonatas like musical ones, with brushes and paints. His picturesque paintings sound with music and are also understandable without words, and are also written in accordance with all the laws of musical forms.

Choosing the eternally attracting sea as an object for one of the sonatas, Čiurlionis painted three paintings for her: “Allegro”, “Andante” and “Final”.

Allegro translates as stormy, joyful, or fun. It is with these words that the first picture of the sonata can be characterized. One wave after another assertively come ashore, sparkling and shimmering in the sun. Amber, shells, pebbles and much more rose up from the depths and swim among the bubbles. The entire coast is in the hills, its shape is easy to lose and confuse with one of the crests of the wave. But the waves break on the shore joyfully, not portraying a struggle, but rather actively playing with it. And the picture raises the mood, delighting with its bright colors and liveliness of the action.

The next picture of the sonata is Andante. Everything is quiet and calm in her. Only two bright beams of lights illuminate the horizon. Follow the luminous bubbles coming from them, and you will see how the whole city reigned at the bottom of the sleeping sea, in which they found shelter and sunken ships. A good hand raises one of them and gently, as the children put out small boats, lowers them to the surface, giving it a second life.

The whole sea is boiling, and a formidable and majestic wave rises upwards in the Final and, like a monster with its claws, is already striving to catch and devour helpless boats. Perhaps the author’s barely noticeable initials on the wave make it clear that the same death awaits, as it seems to him, all his works: they will be buried deep at the bottom, where no one will remember them ... But no matter how terrible the wave seemed, these ships should in the end, to sail out of it, not for nothing, because the hand saved one of the sailing ships in Andante. And the paintings of Mikalius Čiurlionis will never be forgotten, even after many hundreds of years.

The Parable Of The Blind

Watch the video: Symphonic Poem The Sea on the 135th birth anniversary of M. K. Ciurlionis at National Art Museum (November 2022).