Description of the painting by Jerome Bosch “The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things”

Description of the painting by Jerome Bosch “The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things”

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Jeroen Antonison van Aken or Jerome Bosch. Famous Dutch artist of the Northern Renaissance.

To this day, 25 paintings and 8 drawings by this painter have been preserved. The most famous painting is “The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things”.

Like Dante Alighieri from the Divine Comedy, who descended to Purgatory and knew all his circles, Jerome Bosch recreated human sins on his canvas, according to the religious canons of his time. The painting was painted by the artist’s favorite technique - alla prima, when the first strokes of oil paint create the final texture of the canvas.

"The Seven Deadly Sins" - a unique masterpiece of the artist. Having the form of a kind of “countertop” (although it has never been), written to demonstrate to man his sinful nature and philosophical edification, the picture makes an indelible impression.

Against a dark background of the canvas, a multistructured composition of five circles of different diameters is drawn. In the very center there is a semblance of an all-seeing eye, inside of which is Jesus Christ, observing all the events in this world and noticing all the sinful acts of man. Around Jesus, counterclockwise, as the author originally intended, depicts genre scenes written in the detailed manner of the old Dutch school of painting.

Each scene demonstrates all human vices:

    anger - depicted as a fight between two men and a woman who drank pretty before it; pride - a woman who avidly peers into the mirror, which served as Bosch's favorite allegorical demonstration of vanity and pride, because it was considered the instrument of the devil; lust - two couples in love, seized with passion; laziness - failure to fulfill his duties as a priest, to whom a parishioner came to confession; gluttony - a fat man who devours everything that is on the table and can not get enough; greed - a bribe of a judge, on whose decision the fate of a person depends; envy - expressed in the sidelong glances of older spouses on their neighbor who made an expensive purchase).

At the bottom of each image there is an inscription in Latin or a quote from the Old Testament (for example, under the eye of the Lord it is written Cave, cave, Deusvidet - “Fear, for the Lord notices everything”).

Four circles of the same size (the so-called tondo) are located at the four corners of the picture, which complement the meaning of the picture, showing the results of human life - death (a dying man surrounded by priests, at the head of which stands Madame Death herself, an angel and a demon);

The Last Judgment (apostles, souls waiting for a fair trial and angels with trumpets of Jericho);

Hell (a very realistic depiction of sinners, boiling cauldrons, torture and devils) and Paradise (the apostle Peter opens the gates to the righteous, the Most High on the throne and saints).

Almost all of Jerome Bosch’s paintings are permeated with ironic sarcasm over the futility of human existence, but the painting “The Seven Deadly Sins” makes you think and rethink your life to make it cleaner and more spiritual.

Painting Wave

Watch the video: Hieronymus Boschs The Garden of Earthly Delights HD (November 2022).